Get other helpful resources like this in your inbox -- FREE!

2013 Federal Holidays

Federal law (5 U.S.C. 6103) establishes the following public holidays for federal employees in 2013. 

Please note that most federal employees work on a Monday through Friday schedule.  For these employees, when a holiday falls on a nonworkday -- Saturday or Sunday -- the holiday usually is observed on Monday (if the holiday falls on Sunday) or Friday (if the holiday falls on Saturday).

Tues., January 1 New Year's Day
Mon., January 21 Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Mon., February 18* Washington's Birthday
Mon., May 27 Memorial Day
Thurs., July 4 Independence Day
Mon., September 2 Labor Day
Mon., October 14 Columbus Day
Mon., November 11 Veterans Day
Thurs., November 28 Thanksgiving Day
Wed., December 25 Christmas Day

NOTE: This year, the Inauguration Day holiday falls on Monday, January 21, 2013, which is also the legal public holiday for the Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. (See 5 U.S.C. 6103(c).) For Federal employees who work in the District of Columbia, Montgomery or Prince George's Counties in Maryland, Arlington or Fairfax Counties in Virginia, or the cities of Alexandria or Fairfax in Virginia, Inauguration Day is observed concurrently with the Martin Luther King, Jr., holiday. Federal employees in these areas are not entitled to an in-lieu-of holiday for Inauguration Day.

* This holiday is designated as "Washington's Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is OPM's policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.